top of page
Search
  • meganracioppo

My Story


Hello there! My name is Megan; welcome to my blog! My goal for this blog is to spread awareness surrounding mental health. I have diagnoses of Bipolar Type 1, PTSD, and Generalized Anxiety Disorder.

I was first diagnosed with Major Depressive Disorder (MDD) when I was around 18-19 years old. I became depressed at the young age of 13. I also experienced severe anxiety as a child. It wasn't until my mid-twenties that I was diagnosed with GAD and PTSD. And then in my early 30’s-a Bipolar diagnosis.

I am now 36. Life with these mental illnesses can be debilitating. Symptoms are all-consuming. I take medication and attend therapy to manage my illnesses. I hate the fact that I have to take pills every day for the rest of my life. But without them, I wouldn't have the ability to remain stable, like I am now.

I have been in therapy weekly for about 7 years now. I highly recommend going. My therapist has seen every side to me. The depression, mania, panic attacks, numbness, suicidal ideations; everything.

I also have a really great support system. My husband is an amazing help when I need it. And my parents have always been there for me.

We have two boys, who are 8 & 10. Life as a mom with mental illness is hard. When I'm in a depressive episode, I need someone to help me pick up the slack. I'm so lucky to have the support that I do.

There's a lot more to my story... I hope you'll stay tuned for more!


Warmest wishes,

Megan





11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page